top of page

An enchanting and delightfully dark story of magic and intrigue.

A young girl discovers a curious London magic shop and begins a peculiar journey to rescue a missing friend.

Chloe Ashley is feeling lonely and dejected. She's estranged from her best friend and ignored by her busy parents. One dreary afternoon, she wanders into a newly refurbished curiosities shop in the heart of London. The shop is owned by Mr. Ixworth and Mr. Maddox, two eccentric gentlemen who are in the business of magic. Real magic.

Chloe becomes a fast friend with the two magicians and discovers the wondrous merchandise the shop has to offer: a magical flying taxi, ghost spectacles, self-fluffing pillows, and crumb-less tables. In short time, Chloe is on her way to becoming a magician's apprentice.

But when Ixworth suddenly disappears, Chloe and Maddox are launched into a shadowy, sinister world of mystery and deception. In their perilous investigation to find their missing friend, the pair uncovers an age-old conspiracy of greed, inheritance, and power. Was Ixworth kidnapped? Murdered? Is he hiding? Or is there something more insidious at play, lurking beneath the streets of London, on a quest to fulfill an ancient and terrible prophecy?

Kirkus

Reviews

"An inventive book that offers wit, eccentric worldbuilding, and a look at magic’s dark side."

Christine L. 

Pages and Paws

"Fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, and Lemony Snicket will enjoy this charming middle grade fantasy. I couldn't put it down!"

Vivian Turnbull
Foreword Reviews

"A delightful fantasy novel."

D. Donovan

Midwest Book Review

"So packed with surprise and delight that it's hard to put down."

About J.D. Grolic

jdgrolic_headshot.png

When he’s not writing, J.D. works full-time as a visual artist and has been drawing and writing for as long as he can remember. He lives near Toronto, Canada, with his partner, two children, and an assortment of animals. The Extraordinary Curiosities of Ixworth and Maddox is his debut middle-grade novel. 

bottom of page